Audio Books – Patience can be a virtue

A lot of people appreciated my post last week (Trick to get huge audio book discounts) so I thought I would just do a quick follow-up.

I was looking for a new audio book to sink by teeth (or ears) into and stumbled upon Damocles.  Well, Audible helped me stumble upon it with an email announcing some new titles.   While there were no reviews on the audio book having just been released that same day (5-28-13), there were 25 reviews on Amazon.com which looked promising; plus the premise sounded promising also.  However, there was no discount for the Kindle+Audible bundle.

Luckily I am experienced in the process of publishing so I knew it can take a few days for everything to “jive” together.  Since the book was just released on the day I was checking it out, the Audible audio version showed up separate from the Kindle version on Amazon.com.   I’m currently in the middle of the Wool audio book so I wasn’t in a big hurry.  If I acted on impulse I would have had to pay $13.99 for just the Audible audio version.

So today I happened to check on it, and sure enough, the Audible version and the Kindle version are now linked.  I figured it would still be a few days before the Whispersync for Voice option became available, but to my surprise it already is.  And, the discounted bundle price is in place too.  So now I can get the Kindle+Audible bundle for this book for $8.48.

Sure, I only saved $5.51, however… I really like having the Kindle version also; if for nothing else than for reference.  Any of you readers out there know that sometimes you come across something that strikes a cord with you.  It’s hard to “highlight” an audio book.  Plus, the whole concept behind Whispersync for Voice is that you can alternate between the Audio book and the Kindle book.  I’ve done this too and I like it!!  Good God, I sound like a commercial for Amazon/Audible, sorry 🙂    But it really is a good deal.

WhispersyncForVoice

So I guess the moral of my story is that if you want to take advantage of this deal on a brand spanking new Audible audio book, you may need to wait a few days for all the pieces to come together.  There’s no guarantee that there will be a discounted combo package of course – but in many cases it will happen and you can save a few bucks.

One thought on “Audio Books – Patience can be a virtue

  1. Pingback: Trick to get huge audio book discounts | Brian P. Kayser

Leave a Reply

